Anthologies

SOTSSongs of the Satyrs

From Dark Discoveries editor Aaron J. French, the man who brought you Monk Punk and The Shadow of the Unknown, comes Songs of the Satyrs, an anthology dedicated entirely to the robust creatures of earthly pleasures. Songs of the Satyrs is a collection containing 20 short stories from distinctive new voices in horror as well as such notable authors as David Farland (a.k.a. David Wolverton; New York Times best-selling author), Rhys Hughes, Mark Valentine, W. H. Pugmire, and John Langan, with an introduction by Gene O’Neill.

PRAISE

“If there has been a previous fiction anthology devoted to satyrs I’m certainly not aware of it–in fact the existence of such an anthology seems as unlikely as these half humans, half goats themselves. But Songs of the Satyrs revels in such unlikeliness, its authors taking this mythical creature as a challenge to their imaginations to produce a variety of fantasy, horror, and science fiction tales exploring sex, madness, appetite, and ecstasy.”–Steve Rasnic Tem, author of Deadfall Hotel

“Get your Goat on! Songs of the Satyrs offers a host of modern Bacchanalian delights and dangers…because where there are satyrs, you know there’s going to be plenty of sex and intoxication (and strange naked rituals in the forest which don’t bode well for someone). OK, sure, you could visit a college frat for the same experience, but then you’d have to deal with the hangover. And that lingering goatish odor…”–John Everson, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of Covenant and NightWhere

“Like the woodlands party animal who is the book’s subject, so toothe stories in this anthology frolic and revel and metamorphosize under the supervision of Editor Aaron J. French. French has assembled 20 diverse stories from an equally diverse gathering of authors, each focusing on a different aspect of the goatish hedonist Pan and his cloven-hoofed followers. There is sex, violence and alcohol, not unexpected in a collection of stories about satyrs. It is neither explicit nor gratuitous, but it’s not a YA book either. All in all, I heartily recommend it.”–Hellnotes

 

MonkPunkShadowCoverSmallMonk Punk and Shadow of the Unknown Omnibus

Author and editor Aaron J. French combines his first two anthologies, Monk Punk and The Shadow of the Unknown, together for the first time in this Omnibus Edition. In the tradition of Steampunk, Cyberpunk, and Splatterpunk comes this new sub-strain of speculative fiction–Monk Punk. Twenty-three hard-hitting Monkpunk tales of fantasy, science fiction, and Lovecraftian horror. Madness and the Mythos, the Surreal and the Sinister. The Shadow of the Unknown collects Twenty-nine tales of horror inspired by H.P Lovecraft and the element of the unknown in supernatural fiction. Think your sanity can withstand the assault? Also included are eleven brand-new Omnibus Exclusive stories which are only available in this edition. Within these pages you will find tales from Gary A. Braunbeck, Stephen Mark Rainey, Richard Gavin, William Meikle, John R. Fultz, Josh Reynolds, Gene O’Neill, James S. Dorr, and much more!

PRAISE

“A diverse cross-section of contemporary horror by established writers and exciting newcomers. Fans of Lovecraft, Ligotti, Campbell and other masters of the genre will find much to appreciate in this well-rounded anthology.” — Jeffrey Thomas, author of Punktown

Praise for The Shadow of the Unknown
“Anyone who tries to breathe new life into the Elder Gods takes an unspeakable risk. But these authors succeed in bringing the darkness home… where it belongs.” — Gary Fry, author of Abolisher of Roses

The Shadow of the Unknown embraces a leitmotif used by other collections. Yet the volume is not merely another variation on a well-worn theme. The general high quality of the tales redeems the theme’s replay and rewards the reader.” — Hellnotes

“An inspired collection.” — Morpheus Tales

The Shadow of the Unknown is a solid collection of Lovecraftian terrors. It has a nice wide range of styles and settings, with far more hits than misses, and a few real gems gleaming brightly to catch the eye. Fans of the Cthulhu Mythos and weird fiction should give this one a read. Consider it well recommended.” — Horror World

Praise for Monk Punk
Monk Punk is a great set of stories, each one with something different and unique to offer, and it’s an essential for any fantasy fan who loves martial arts.” — Hellnotes

“A fun book to read; a lively, playful collection.” — The Future Fire

“A riveting benchmark in genre fiction and an anthology to be proud of.” — Morpheus Tales

“I enjoyed all of the tales presented here. I wouldn’t hesitate recommending any of them.” — Ginger Nuts of Horror

“These stories–be they science fiction, fantasy, or horror–all have one thing in common: they will hand you your ass for a hat and make you ask them if you look pretty in it. And you’ll love it…” — Gary A. Braunbeck, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of To Each Their Darkness